Call for Nominations: Paul Evan Peters Award

The Paul Evan Peters Award recognizes the most notable and lasting international achievements related to information technology and the creation and use of information resources and services that advance scholarship and intellectual productivity. Past winners have been Christine L. Borgman (2011), Professor and Presidential Chair in Information Studies, UCLA; Daniel E. Atkins (2008), inaugural director of the National Science Foundation's Office of Cyberinfrastructure; Paul Ginsparg (2006), founder of arXiv, an e-print archive for articles in the sciences; Brewster Kahle (2004), founder and chairman of the board of the Internet Archive; "father of the Internet" Vinton Cerf (2002); and Tim Berners-Lee (2000), inventor of the World Wide Web. All recipients embody the rare combination of strategic vision, technical innovation, and humanitarian outlook that the award seeks to promote.

Award winners are recommended by a committee of representatives of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL), the Coalition for Networked Information (CNI), and EDUCAUSE, and selected by the chief executives of the three organizations. Guidelines for submitting a nomination are detailed below.


Nominees for the award should meet one or more of the following qualifications.

He or she has:
1. Demonstrated a positive and lasting impact on scholarly communications through the implementation and/or use of information technology and networks, as evidenced by publication, the development of environments for the dissemination of information contributions in the area of data stewardship, or other similar endeavors
2. Addressed a specific problem fundamental to scholarship, research, and intellectual productivity and provided an innovative solution using information technology
3. Helped increase awareness of the role of scholarly information and communication through dissemination of effective techniques using computing and information technologies
4. Made a career-long contribution to the advancement of scholarly information and communications through the implementation and/or use of information technology and networks.


Joan K. Lippincott
[log in to unmask]" style="font-size: 10pt; ">[log in to unmask]


Paul Evan Peters Award Nomination
c/o Joan Lippincott, Associate Executive Director
Coalition for Networked Information
21 Dupont Circle, NW, Suite 800
Washington, DC  20036-1109
fax: 202-982-0884


Recipients of this award will receive a commemorative award and will be asked to present a major address at a CNI membership meeting. This award is offered jointly by ARL, CNI, and EDUCAUSE. It honors Paul Evan Peters, founding director of CNI, who guided the organization until his untimely death in 1996 and who was recognized as one of the 100 most influential people in 20th century librarianship in the American Libraries listing of December 1999. The award program has been endowed by ARL, EDUCAUSE, Microsoft Corporation, and Xerox Corporation.

For more information see the award website at:

Diane Goldenberg-Hart
Communications Coordinator | CNI
202-296-5098 | [log in to unmask] |