Nominations Invited for Annual Intellectual Freedom Award

The Graduate School of Library and Information Science (GSLIS) at the 
University of Illinois seeks nominations for the Robert B. Downs 
Intellectual Freedom Award. The deadline for nominations is October 15, 

Given annually, the award acknowledges individuals or groups who have 
furthered the cause of intellectual freedom, particularly as it impacts 
libraries and information centers and the dissemination of ideas. 
Granted to those who have resisted censorship or efforts to abridge the 
freedom of individuals to read or view materials of their choice, the 
award may be in recognition of a particular action or a long-term 
interest in and dedication to the cause of intellectual freedom.

The Robert B. Downs Intellectual Freedom Award was established in 1969 
by the GSLIS faculty to honor Dean Emeritus Downs, a champion of 
intellectual freedom, on the occasion of his 25th anniversary as 
director of the School. Previous winners have included the West Bend 
(WI) Community Memorial Library, for its steadfast advocacy on behalf of 
intellectual freedom in the face of a library challenge (2009); Brewster 
Kahle and the Internet Archive for their successful challenge to a 
national security letter (2008); Barbara M. Jones, Wesleyan University 
Librarian, who was honored for her international work on behalf of 
intellectual freedom (2007); Michele Reutty, who refused to turn over 
patron records without a subpoena (2006); and John Doe of the court case 
"John Doe v. Gonzales" (2005).

The ABC-CLIO Publishing Company provides an honorarium to the recipient 
and co-hosts the reception in honor of the recipient. The reception and 
award ceremony for the 2010 Downs Intellectual Freedom Award will take 
place in January 2011 during the American Library Associationís 
Midwinter Meeting in San Diego, California.

Letters of nomination and documentation about the nominee should be sent 
by e-mail to [log in to unmask] with a copy to [log in to unmask] or 
in paper form to John Unsworth, Dean, GSLIS, 501 East Daniel Street, 
Champaign, IL 61820 by October 15. Questions should be directed to 
Associate Professor Terry Weech at [log in to unmask]

More information about the award is available at

Kim Schmidt | Director of Publications and Media Relations
Graduate School of Library and Information Science
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
501 E. Daniel Street, MC-493
Champaign, IL  61820
phone 217-265-6391; fax 217-244-3302
[log in to unmask]